Skip to content

Partners In Education

The Wheeling Area Chamber Partners in Education Committee is tasked with choosing our annual Elementary, Middle, and High School Teachers of the Year. Each year, these recipients are recognized by the Wheeling Area Chamber of Commerce at our annual Steak Fry and celebrated for their hard work and dedication to their profession. The Chamber Partners in Education Committee also selects a local high school senior to receive a scholarship to a West Virginia College or University.


2022 Recipients:
Ms. Gabrielle Burriss – Middle Creek Elementary School
Ms. Shawna Safreed – Bridge Street Middle School
Mr. Ryan Stanton – Wheeling Park High School

The $1,000 Williams Lea College Scholarship winner was Kaylynn Hall, a current freshman at West Liberty University.


Members of the Wheeling Area Chamber Education Committee:
John Culler - Beyond Marketing (Chairman)
Maureen Kerr – Our Lady of Peace School
Penny Cunningham – The Linsly School
Danielle McCracken – Oglebay Institute
Dr. William Welker – Retired Ohio County Schools Educator
Dr. Kim Miller – Ohio County Schools Superintendent
Becky Sancomb – Wheeling Central Catholic High School
Karri Mulhern – West Virginia Northern Community College
Lyndsie Scott-Guzek – West Virginia Northern Community College
Walt Saunders – Ohio County Schools
Lori Weaver – Bethany College
Dr. Cathy Monteroso – West Liberty University